2011 Annual Report

Mayo Regional Hospital received two major awards in 2011, on the state and national levels, in recognition of the outstanding quality of care provided to its patients.

In July, Maine Gov. Paul LePage presented an award designating Mayo as a preferred provider of healthcare services for state employees. The recognition by the State Employee Health Commission ranked Mayo as one of only five hospitals in the state who consistently deliver superior healthcare to patients.

In September, Mayo was named one of the Top 100 Critical Access Hospitals in America by the National Rural Health Association. Mayo was honored for its dedication to quality improvement, service excellence and financial strength.

In addition, Mayo was named Outstanding Corporate Supporter by United Way of Eastern Maine for helping to launch the backpack food program for deserving students at SAD 4 schools in Guilford.

Mayo expanded its inpatient hospitalist service during the year, doubling the number of physicians providing full-time care for inpatients from two to four, and adopting a 24/7 staffing model. Internist Tom Murray, M.D., who started the hospitalist service in 1997, was joined by three new physicians in the program: Alan Irwin, D.O., Zaher Oueida, M.D. and Ioannis Karakalpakis, M.D.

Jeffrey Cole, D.O. was recruited as a general surgeon for Mayo Surgical Associates, and also gave that practice new capabilities by offering a full line of cosmetic surgery procedures. Henry Jao, M.D., who had previously worked at Mayo Orthopaedics, rejoined that office in order to help meet the demand for orthopaedic surgery in the community.

Marjorie Snyder, M.D., was recruited as the new adult psychiatrist for Mayo’s Psychiatry and Counseling Program. Two members of Mayo’s medical staff took on new roles during the year, both at Dover-Foxcroft Family Medicine. George Kousaie, M.D. closed his private practice and joined DFFM, and internist Elizabeth Dennis, D.O. moved from the hospitalist service to primary care.

Other additions to the medical staff were David Flaherty, PA-C, who joined the Emergency Department, and Nicole Kane, FNP, now with Mayo Orthopaedics

Great progress was made on the project to install electronic health record (EHR) systems in Mayo’s physician practice locations, the Emergency Department and hospital inpatient areas. This work, started in 2010, was completed in the ED, inpatient areas and primary care physician offices. The work will conclude in 2012 with EHR installation in specialty physician practices.

Ralph Gabarro, Mayo’s President and CEO since 1997, announced his intention to retire on Oct. 31, 2012. The HAD 4 Board of Directors began a search process to select Gabarro’s successor.

Key Statistics for 2011

  • Hospital admissions   1,086
  • Average daily census   11.4
  • Births   144
  • Surgical procedures   1,912
  • Radiology exams   19,866
  • Laboratory tests   125,712
  • Emergency Room visits   12,336
  • Physician office visits   44,913
  • Ambulance runs   3,461

Hospital Administrative District 4 Board of Directors:


  • Janice Boomsma


  • Tony Zambrano


  • Gregory Bowler Co-Chair


  • Evelyn Farrar


  • William Lovejoy
  • Kathy Goerlitz
  • Ella Munday


  • Mary Alyce Higgins Co-Chair
  • George Barton Vice Chair
  • Barbara Austin Secretary


  • Alvin McDonald


  • D. Jensen Bissell Treasurer
  • Gerald Brown


  • Sue DeLoia


  • Candice Cyr


  • Gayle Worden


  • Gerald Nessmann


  • Jeff Morin