2010 Annual Report

Even in a difficult economy, Mayo Regional Hospital continued to make substantial investments in its facilities during the past year, spending nearly $1.2 million for upgrades designed to better serve its patients.

The Radiology department installed a new, 32-slice CT scanner, a $514,000 purchase that provides the very latest in imaging technology.

The year 2010 also witnessed the start of an ambitious project to install electronic health record (EHR) systems in Mayo’s physician practice locations, the Emergency Department and hospital inpatient areas. This work started in physician offices with the installation of EHR and practice management software, and will expand to the hospital environment in 2011.

Mayo’s Psychiatry and Counseling program, which expanded operations by moving into a new location the previous year, continued its growth by adding the services of Corabell Arps, M.D., a specialist in child and adolescent psychiatry.

The hospital started a new, monthly neurology outpatient clinic with Annette Goodman, D.O. Dexter Internal Medicine welcomed Lori Towne, FNP as a new provider.

William Sheppard, PA-C, who has worked in Mayo’s Emergency Department since 1996, was named Rural PA of the Year by the Downeast Association of Physician Assistants.

For the second straight year, Mayo sponsored a highly successful Dennis Allen Memorial Golf Classic fundraiser, and has now used proceeds from the event to distribute 37 Automated External Defibrillators at public access points throughout Piscataquis, Penobscot and Somerset counties for enhanced cardiac care.

By maintaining tight fiscal discipline during the ongoing recession, Mayo Regional was able to avoid the layoffs announced at most other Maine hospitals during the year. Mayo preserved its employment level at 385 full-time equivalent positions, absorbed an increased demand for charity care in the community, and still managed to generate a modest operating margin.

Hospital Administrative District 4 Board of Directors:


  • Heather Weymouth, Treasurer


  • Tony Zambrano


  • Gregory Bowler, President


  • Evelyn Farrar


  • Kathy Goerlitz, VP
  • Albert Tempesta, Secretary
  • Sherman Leighton


  • Mary Alyce Higgins
  • George Barton
  • Barbara Austin


  • John White


  • D. Jensen Bissell
  • Gerald Brown


  • Sue DeLoia


  • Candice Cyr


  • Ellen Haley


  • Brenda Kelley


  • Madeline Boudreau