2008 Annual Report

Mayo Regional Hospital celebrated its 30th anniversary in 2008, during a year marked by unprecedented success in physician recruitment for multiple specialties.

The year saw the arrival of five new surgeons: Henry Jao, M.D. joined Mayo Orthopaedics; general surgeon Ruth O’Mahony, M.D. was added to the Mayo Surgical Associates staff; and Randy Kunhardt, M.D. and Kimberly Mays de Perez, M.D. were recruited to provide obstetrics and gynecology services at Mayo Women’s Health.

Brian Miller, M.D., an otolaryngologist–head and neck surgeon, was hired to start ear, nose and throat medical and surgical care through a collaborative arrangement between Mayo, Millinocket Regional Hospital and Penobscot Valley Hospital in Lincoln.

In addition, Elizabeth Dennis, D.O. joined the medical staff as a hospitalist, and Shawn Higgins, D.O. was recruited as a family practice physician in Dover-Foxcroft and Milo.

Two veteran members of Mayo’s medical staff earned significant honors:

Lesley Fernow, M.D., who has practiced internal medicine in Dover-Foxcroft since 1979, received the Laureate Award given to a distinguished member of the American College of Physicians for excellence in medical care and community service. David McDermott, M.D., a family practice physician at Mayo since 1993, was named Physician of the Year by the DownEast Association of Physician Assistants.

Dr. McDermott also shifted from primary care to take on a full-time role as Medical Director of Emergency Services at the hospital.

Two of Mayo’s departments expanded services in new locations. Mayo Emergency Medical Services opened a new Corinna-Dexter ambulance base in Dexter, completing a $400,000 project that began in 2007. The Mayo Counseling program consolidated its psychiatry practice, and its mental health and substance abuse counseling services, at 69 High St. in Dover-Foxcroft in space formerly occupied by the SAD 68 superintendent’s office.

Mayo Regional earned the gold-level Well Workplace designation from the Wellness Councils of America in recognition of the hospital’s comprehensive employee wellness program.

Efforts to improve healthcare quality at Mayo resulted in the adoption of a clinical ladder system to support professional growth for nurses, the awarding of blue ribbons to Mayo’s physician offices as part of the Pathways to Excellence primary care initiative, and continuation of Mayo’s status as a preferred hospital with blue ribbons awarded for both patient safety and clinical quality.

2008 key statistics

  • Hospital admissions   1,276
  • Patient days   4,664
  • Average daily census   14.1
  • Births   156
  • Radiological exams   22,324
  • Surgical procedures   2,080
  • Laboratory tests   128,284
  • Emergency room visits   13,289
  • Physician office visits   46,183
  • Ambulance runs   3,316
  • FTE workers   361

Hospital Administrative District 4 Board of Directors:


  • Heather Weymouth, Treasurer


  • Tony Zambrano


  • Gregory Bowler, President


  • Evelyn Farrar


  • Peggy Kaufman
  • Albert Tempesta, Secretary
  • Kathy Goerlitz


  • Mary Alyce Higgins, Vice President
  • George Barton
  • Gordon MacKinney


  • Dolores Curtis
  • Alvin McDonald


  • D. Jensen Bissell
  • Joni Crossman


  • Sue DeLoia


  • Candice Cyr


  • Ellen Haley


  • Brenda Kelley


  • Jeff Morin